Job, Chapter 1.

so right now my life group is going through job. blowing. my. mind.

essentially, there’s this guy, job, is “blameless” and he fears the lord. well satan is walking around and shows up in front of god and basically says that the only reason job fears god is because god has abundantly blessed his life. so god is basically like “go ahead. just don’t hurt him personally.” so the first thing that happens is all of job’s oxen and donkeys were stolen and the farmhands were killed. immediately after that someone comes to tell him that all the sheep and his shepherds have been destroyed. immediately after THAT, someone comes to tell job that all of his camels have been stolen and his servants killed. then, to top it off, all of his 7 sons and 3 daughters were killed while feasting at the oldest sons house. so, let’s recap:

  • donkeys and oxen stolen, farmhands killed.
  • sheep and shepherds burned up in a fire.
  • camels stolen and servants killed.
  • all 10 children, dead.

how does job respond to this? everything he owns has been taken away from him and his children are now dead. job says:

“i came naked from my mother’s womb,
and i will be naked when i leave.
the lord gave me what i had,
and the lord has taken it away.
PRAISE THE NAME OF THE LORD.”

this is convicting. my bike gets stolen and i lose my job and my reaction is no where near this. the lord has given me everything that i have. i’ve entered the world with nothing. i am owed nothing. god owes me nothing. he is good for giving me anything at all.

About samantharainwater

I love teaching and learning and getting all the experiences I can out of this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

